A memory

Went to the cinema this morning. A free preview screening of Philomena. The stars were Steve Coogan and Dame Judi Dench. Based on a very sad true story. There were tears - and a few laughs along the way. I really enjoyed it. Mooched around the shops afterwards and got home around 5pm.

Just having an evening of TV - X Factor and Downton as usual.

The Forum Challenge today is A Memory. As it was my daughter's birthday yesterday I have been thinking about her and remembering how we chose her name. My husband and I decided to each write a list of our 5 favourite Christian names and then we compared them. As the name Rebecca was on both lists we chose this for her first name. As for the middle name I chose this myself. I chose Maeve. I first heard this name when watching a TV adaptation of the Howard Spring book " My Son, My Son!. One of the main characters is Maeve O'Riorden. It was on TV in around 1979. The book was written in 1937 and I bought myself a copy - I wrote the date in the front 22/3/1980. The sister on the maternity ward said they had never had a Maeve while she had been working there - and she was ancient. Becky isn't all that keen on Maeve as people spell it wrongly or think its May. But I like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.