DOOR

When I saw the Forum Challenge word for today I knew what I was going to blip. So I got the bus to Newcastle to take a shot of this door - or should I say doors.

This is the doorway I used when I worked in this building between 1969 and 1982. The only job I have ever had. In those days there were revolving doors just inside the entrance. Beyond was a large vestibule. To the right there was a door leading to the counter where the public would go. Straight ahead was the door for staff. On the left were the lift and stairs to the 2nd and 3rd floors.

I worked on the ground floor for a few years - general admin and accounts, then moved to another department on the 2nd floor dealing with death claims on life insurance policies. This dept moved to Reading so I went back downstairs and ended up in the personnel dept. This is where I met my husband Douglas. Got married, got pregnant and left work - all in the same year. Douglas carried on working in this building until the office moved to Gosforth. At the moment it is the home of UNISON - the trade union. So a doorway with many memories for me. I just had to blip it.

If both doors had been closed this would have been a candidate for today's Mono Monday challenge which is symmetry. I was tempted to surreptitiously close the door - but chickened out.

This evening I went to slimming club. I am pleased to report I lost 2 pounds this week. After putting ON 2½ pounds last week I was glad to lose most of that. Hardly anyone stayed after weigh in this week.

Weather today was dry and quite pleasant at times but when I came out of slimming club at around 6pm it was rather cold. I wished I had taken a pair of gloves.

Steps today - 10,049

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.