... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Hoverfly On A Rainy Day

Crisper in large ("L").

Eep, superbusy! Catch up, yada yada...
This is a hoverfly that I snapped in a slightly sunny spell (well, the clouds weren't totally continuous) in the early afternoon. It was in a shady patch in the garden, so doesn't look that sunny, but hey ho.
I was never phobic, but wasn't previously particularly keen on insects (but for hummingbird hawk-moths), but this macro lens is opening my eyes somewhat. Some of them are rather beautifully jewel-like up close, and others are satisfyingly striking or graphic.

p.s. The antennae are clear here: they are a characteristic of the suborder Brachycera (to which hoverflies belong). They are club-shaped and each has a bristle (an arista, pl. aristae) emerging from the third segment.
p.p.s. That is me/my lens reflecting in its thorax.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.