Cabbage Tree Flowers

Pleased to report that while some of the "paint work" was scraped a bit on Monday, the "engine" was unaffected and I was able to enjoy a run this morning.

Perhaps I was tempting fate to do so this soon after munting my new camera on Monday (both its exterior and its interior were damaged beyond repair), but I took the replacement with me. I clearly still have a lot to get right in its use, and there were more unsatisfactory shots than I am used to .

This one appeals to both S and me. A large New Zealand cabbage tree is flowering prolifically in Gribblehirst Park. Gribblehirst Park is situated in part of what was once known as Cabbage Tree Swamp. Mr Gribblehirst and his business partner and their families initially farmed here and then drained the swamp to establish the park, having gifted the land to the Auckland Council of the time (late 19th century).

I am pleased that this camera was able to include the distant moon with reasonable focus, along with the featured tree and its flowers

Worth seeing large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.