Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Zoo Day (No 5). Not.

I was fiddling around this morning before going for the bus, and I got started on things and places I’d been avoiding - under the sink, the corner cupboard, behind the freezer taking down shelves.

Unfortunately, I got so carried away, I suddenly realised I had missed the bus, and the next one would leave me a bit late for the Zoo talk, even if I did run up the hill to the lecture room (which I can’t). And if there’s one thing I hate, it’s going in late to a meeting. I’d rather not go.

After my industrious morning, I went into town to pay the solicitor their money. He gave way on three things, which brought the bill down all of £100, but I was happy - it was the principle of the thing - I wanted him to relent a bit! But, as he pointed out, we had signed a form agreeing to all these charges at the beginning…

Had a wander through the Gardens - what a fantastic day. There were great big piles of leaves, and I spotted this chap with a rake, pushing big loads down to the path. I asked if I could take some photos ('New camera' etc). He didn’t mind. Don’t know why he looks so miserable when he’s got such a fun job! I’ve got a few shots of him glumly pushing a big pile of leaves towards me.

Then he went and started up the blower! Even better! He stomped off to the other end of his long row of already swept up leaves and walked along blowing. I was trotting along, trying to keep up. His face kept going into shade and then in bright sunshine, so it was pot luck.

Those film crew vans are still clogging up the street, filming round the corner. I see a sign saying ‘No Parking till 8pm Friday’… er, we’re flitting on Friday... I’ve rung the removal chaps to ask them to check up that the cooncil haven’t double booked the space outside our house!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.