Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No No Parking!

A quick wander down town this morning - I knew the weather would deteriorate this afternoon. I see workmen have put up big iron railings round the Ross Fountain. I asked them what the story was. They think it’s just while the Council decide what to do with it. But I suspect it's so that they can let it keel over in its own good time and nobody will get hurt. I hope I'm wrong.

I have a suggestion. Why don’t the Council fix it. I think it’s a disgrace that such a beautiful fountain has just been left to deteriorate. I emailed the Man in Charge of Fountains, and he’s STILL trying to get them to fix it. I’ve been writing and complaining about the non-functioning fountain here and here.

This afternoon I had two lots of picker-uppers. Two chaps came for the wardrobe. It was quite fun to watch them trying to manoeuvre (thank goodness for spell checkers) this very large item round corners. Actually, they really earned their £40 for picking it up and delivering it across town.

A few last minute frantic last minute emails flying in from the solicitor… Why do they leave these things to the last minute? He asked about a reference to a Statutory Notice from October 2011, and did I have a receipt for the work? Well - blow me down - I DID!

And the usual evidence to prove that we didn't use our stash of drug money hidden under the mattress for the house purchase...

Still no ‘No Parking’ notice for our flitting! Just the film crew notices. I have rung the removal folk again to check up. Do I trust the Council? No.

Almost there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.