Fly fishing Lake Hawdon

We returned to Lake Hawdon this morning. Gosh, what a beautiful place.

Large is more beautiful

I was first into the lake and I had it to myself for a while. A wild pig passed about 30m from me on the edge of the lake. It disappeared into the scrub as my fishing mate came down the slope. He was most disappointed as he's never seen a wild pig. (He clearly hangs around in the wrong company ;-)

Browns were cruising but there line was straight, and those aren't feeding fish. Rainbows went past in pairs traveling quicker. Fish in pairs usually happens during spawning. Rainbows spawn later but this seemed too late.

I tried different lures and combinations with flies but they weren't tempted. Once I had a follow chasing my lure but no take. The fly fisherman fared no better.

Around lunchtime the fish behaviour started to change. Instead of straight line cruising there was the turning and doubling back of fish hunting for food. Maybe the other 2 fly fishermen were successful in the afternoon.

It didn't matter, it was beautiful and I learned more.

Then back to the house for a quick clean up before heading back home. See my blips from the opening of the high country fishing season.

Friday - Southerly front from Cass

Saturday - Dusk at Lake Hawdon

Sunday - Fly fishing at Lake Hawdon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.