creative lenna

By creativelenna

Dancing in the Streets

oh my! Large -like you are dancing with them.
Yes, we were dancing in the streets of downtown Sarasota, FL today. It was fun! I danced, took photos and some video too. The event was the Vibrance Natural Living Festival held outdoors on Main Street. Both Conscious Movement and the Nia Technique were happily represented and I took part in both demos. It was a glorious windy day, perfect for the scarves we sometimes use. Great for simply enjoying. I felt very proud being there with my dancing, free spirited friends!

hobbs got me started a day or so ago using my camera with more manual controls. I have been setting the aperture myself the last day, or maybe two? I was trying to experience what he was challenging himself with, although he was using a prime lens. I have a very different camera than he does. Mine is a super zoom with a fixed lens, but you can still set it yourself (if you dare)! I dared. I even did it today when I was out in public, trying to take photos of an event. This is how my thinking went: I know that f/2.8 is good for a short focal length distance, so I think maybe f/4.5 or f/5 might work for keeping things more in focus at the distance I'll be using today. I ended up putting the camera on automatic for only a handful of shots and mostly using the setting where I chose the aperture myself.

When I saw the photos later I was amazed and relieved! I really think the focus is better. The clarity and quality seems improved! I still do not know what I am doing but the results make me want to keep trying to learn. Today's photo is of the Nia demo with my friend Kathy Oravec in brown leading us, Larisa Byely in the center reaching, Debbie Moran in blue following Kathy and my other Nia instructor Becky Holahan with the papers in her hand talking to someone about nia classes. I liked the movement I was able to catch and yet the photo was in focus!

: )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.