RunAndrewRun

By RunAndrewRun

14-miles; out to Ratho and back :-)

After spending the whole of last weekend in North Yorkshire, most definitely had to get back into the swing of a longer-run today ... and pleased to report that I managed to get all the way out to Ratho (and back!) this morning; as per my run 2-weeks ago :-)

Also managed to keep to much-the-same pace, taking 146-minutes for the 14-miles, so just over the 10-minutes/mile rate. Not fast, but I'm pleased with that!

I have to say, that it was completely glorious out there this morning - clear, crisp, not a breath of wind, and no ice on the tow-path. Truly wonderful, winter conditions :-))

I've now had a slight change in my run-monitoring regime ... and am the proud owner of, thanks to the help and advice of a running-friend, a GARMIN Forerunner 10 GPS Running Watch - as per the picture ;-)

Means no more 'map my run', but frankly it was becoming a bit untenable to run with the i-phone for the distances I'm now doing. No more canal-pictures therefore (I can tell you're gutted!), but I will try and blip something appropriate each running-day!


Anyhow, today's figures:

Date: 24/11/13
Height: 6 ft 4inches
Weight: 15stone 8pounds
Distance run: 14-miles
Pace: >10-mins/mile


Definitely a running rest-day tomorrow!

And exactly 6-months to go now until the Edinburgh Marathon, so do please consider sponsoring me as it will certainly help keep my motivation up over the coming winter-months ;-)

If you are interested - all the details on why I'm undertaking this somewhat mild-insanity can be found here. And if you do want to sponsor me - which will help the wonderful Venture Scotland - then all the relevant details are on my JustGiving page here :-)

---

Finally, for now - here's my 'long-run' schedule for the coming weekends up to Christmas ... I'm just going to stick to the 14-miles for now, take a break over Christmas/New Year, and then pick-up the distances from early January onwards:

- Saturday 30th November; 14-miles
- Sunday 8th December; 14-miles
- Sunday 15th December; 14-miles

A break thereafter ... and, of course, I'll keep trying to do a couple of shorter-runs within each intervening week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.