AN ANNIVERSARY

one cannot chose, it is at this day and not at another. The weather one has to take for granted. My journey to Diergaarde Blijdorp and especially going to the Amazonica where the butterflies are. The idea to go there came to me when I saw the beautiful butterflies picture of Tiebreaker.
I cycled to Moerwijk, the station, took the train to Rotterdam Central station and walked to the Zoo. The grey sky did the entrance already look dull, the bright pink flamingos cheered me a bit up. The labyrinth of paths, despite the map I was given, the abandoned spaces where in summer animals (prisoners) can enjoy the light and sunshine, the closed cafés, well those did not bother me at that time, and I was glad when I eventually found the entrance of the hothouse.
My glasses had to adjust and more so my lenses. Work to do I said to myself and better hope for the best with the limited light and the patience to let the butterflies be.
I walked around and around, softly of course, and left after some time to have a coffee and visited the Oceanum, a strange world to see.
When I had returned to the Amazonica there landed a big Morfo Peleides on my camera, and I had to tell her that she could not come with me, how much I would have wanted that, too cold I whispered. From my camera she came sitting on my hand and finger and eventually I managed to take a picture of her. Then I gently shoved her on a big leaf.
It had started to rain. I walked to the train, cycled home. Then I could see after some time how many pictures I had taken.
The problems that arised in my Lightroom is not an interesting topic.
I was glad Piet Hein helped me delete, and Mischa helped me to chose from the pictures that had left on flickr. So it became the Heliconius sara.
Their help means a lot to me.
The inspiration, the interaction and the stimulation from Blip I could not miss either. My dear friends who visit my journal, the journals I visit and see such diversity of images, I feel so happy to be included. I heartely thank you all and I hope to continue for the time to come.
Mischa had start blipping more than three years ago, I followed her three years ago and although she is now absorbed in her work, she was and stays my inspiration.
Blip Central with all the dedication and knowledge they put into Blipland I express here my deep respect, and thank them for their difficult job they do day by day.

My haiku:

One picture after
Another day after day
No season left out

And the proverb:

Uwe voeten zullen er niet van verslijten.

Translation: Your feet will not wear out from it.

No wonder I feel tired but satisfied. Tomorrow there will be another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.