MY JOURNEY TO LEIDEN

brought me one big surprise. The Hortus Botanicus was open, the hothouses were open, but only the Victoria hothouse was left intact, of the other ones the wooden carcasses one could still see, the renovation in full progress. Of course I had noticed at my last visit that there were plans but I had not realised what it would entail and exactly now, when I came to take my 730th blip.
The weather dark, rain foretold and a cold wind blowing.
Near the entrance there is an enormous and very high glass house for palms and the like. A winding staircase leading to the ceiling, there are the carnivorous plants the ticketseller had told me right away. Did I look as if I was severely interested in those? Now I am glad he told me because I found my blipfoto there.
I had the whole Hortus to myself and walked along the paths, admiring the beautiful and very old trees. Under one tree the grass was strewd with little apples (only they were not apples but some other fruit) and automatically I began to form the numbers 7, 3 and then a zero. A gardener came near with a wheelbarrow and a rake and started to collect the 'apples'. He told me it was better for the grass to remove the fruit. I did not wait to see how he raked the image I had made.

My bliplife started two years ago and in the beginning it was a nice opportunity to see my daughter Mischa's pictures, a beautiful gift because she lived at that time in London.
Very soon Piet Hein and I discovered other journals that offered amazing pictures. The thought that I could join came next and I started. Now I know it simply had to be!
From my little niche I do send pictures and receive many more in return. I write some sentences, form my haiku, look upon a proverb, fitting or not to the picture.
I receive the loveliest comments, stars and favourites, mostly from very faithful friends. I have never seen you in person, but you know I love you all.
I spontaneously laugh out loud at funny fotos, and feel the tears coming when something bad has happened to you, when memories hurt. And we all have them, we are all alike. And all the sentiments we experience in between.
What made the first Blippersons decide that there was a world to gain by starting this wonderful land I do not know, but I am so happy they did and continue to do with amazing zeal and enthusiasm. And thankful, very, too.

I walked through Leiden where I lived till I turned 35 years old. It still feels familiar, although many has changed. It started to rain and I travelled back by train and choose my photo, with the support of Piet Hein.

My haiku:

Love you all I said
A feeling of trust I cherish
Tomorrow a new one

And the proverb:

Labour is but refreshment from repose.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.