he's back . . .

About a week ago I saw a great blue heron come in to the canal and land right on our boat lift, although he flew away before I had a chance to photograph him. Today he was back! He was at the end of the canal where all the tall grasses grow, looking for fish. I saw him spear his beak into the shallow water a few times . . . Then he flew into the air only to land in the water like a swan! I've never seen these birds swimming in the water like that. I did not really see him do that this time because he kind of landed out of my view, I could not get a photo -bushes and docks were in the way. I tried to take a photo when he flew up in the air, but of course I misjudged and took a photo of a tree! Oh well, it was a real treat to see him fairly close again. He was a good number of feet way, but close enough! I got some fairly good photos although I am still learning manual settings. Large is nice.

I want to let you know I haven't been able to visit many journals today and my participation will probably be sparse through Friday. Garth and Nora are here till Wednesday and Friday is the beginning of our Kitchen demolition! I made great progress today moving kitchen items to the garage but there is still more work to be done -everything has to be moved. Garth will help Steven move a large armoire from the living room to the dining room tomorrow and the rest of the furniture in the living room is easy to move. We'll get it done and then we will be living in a crazy, noisy, dusty house for some time till it's all done. The other day I took "before" pictures so eventually I can share before and after! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.