The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Cornhill, and distant Rodborough

It was foggy today at both ends, and not much better in the middle. I bought a Santa hat for the works dressing up day on Friday, then tried it when I got home. It was so warm I have been wearing it ever since.

My massage patient was a no-show. I cursed and kicked a few things then watched Pointless, did a bit of a jigsaw (it's a sort of OAP version with giant pieces) and finally, yeehar! tidied my desk. It is true what they say that if you leave the paperwork lying around for long enough, most of it ceases to be relevant. Just the problem of this week's coursework and the Christmas crafting tidy-up to do now!
Tomorrow I am going to see the live streaming of The Nutcracker (Royal Ballet live) at the cinema. Can't wait!

I was hoping this shot would turn out rather gorgeous, but it hasn't. There was very little light today, as I have said, and the power lines are in the way. Ah well... I think a lot of the buildings here date back only to the 1980s. The Cornhill runs at right angles to the top of the steep High street, down to the London road (A419) that runs along the valley bottom. The Cornhill building, the large silhouetted one on the right, houses the farmers' markets and other events. It was never actually a corn exchange, because Stroud is a wool town. This photo was taken from the area at the top of the High street where four roads intersect, that was known as The Cross, where the principal transactions did take place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.