The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Everyone's a fruit and nut case...

I was going to bring you a grit bin today, as part of the One Street series, but on account of having been to the live streaming of the ballet (The Nutcracker) I thought something more festive might be in order. So this is the window of the Lily Pad florists' shop in Gloucester street, blipped on my way home.

In fact, I've sort of adopted Gloucester street as my one street,so will tag it as such. Helen G fashions is there, too. It's a pretty rundown part of town. Not that you would know it from this shop window! I remember one Christmas, 1980, when I'd come home from school at the end of term with a really bad cold and earache. For some reason I had to spend the whole day in Sally Cochrane florists in Oban, supping Benylin expectorant, while my sister Tanya (aka TMLHereandThere) and her husband-to-be worked. There was much banter and making of wreaths, until a customer phoned with an interflora order for a bunch of flowers with "Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year" to be written on the card, in Gaelic! We had no Google then, nor BBC Alba, but we did manage to call the Gaelic-language promoting organisation An Comunn Gaidhealach, conveniently sited round the corner, and find the words. Now of course the street signs are in Gaelic and everything, but that was far from the case then.

As for the ballet, it was very pretty, and beautifully danced, but a bit too pink and fluffy for me. The men get the better dances, in my opinion. I liked the 'dances of the world' section in the land of sweets scene, but noticed there were no actual sweets! The battle of the mice and soldiers was pretty amazing, too. Anyone remember this advert? Now I know where the music comes from!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.