Omens for 2014

First let me thank you for your company here, blippers! And now as we all have approached the year 2014, let me wish us all togheter Happy New year...!

Today I wanted to share shortly some Finnish traditions for the very first day of the year - I wonder if you have similar?

The blip is from the first hours of the year 2014 as we made the finnish tradition seeking omens by melting down tin and dropping it in cold water. This is my tin and I wonder what this could mean. Maybe a light of a bird, or flower if looket up, or a wave? Our daughter got a bag. Or a plate full of fruit and money. Our son got a thin layers of tin, which looked in candle light like an ape with a drum...

After a good (late) night sleep this will be the day to listen the traditional Speech of mr President of Finland and then there is time to enjoy of the Philharmonic New Year's concert from Wien. There is often lovely short shots of ballet (my childhood hobby and almost obsession) in the broadcast.

Maybe some walk in the (this year still amazingly snowless) nature and a good late lunch or meal anyway.

Hope you have had a good start for the new year!

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.