In the Avon

Out early for a 13 mile run in my new dazzlingly orange Salomon trail shoes (love them!). Managed to leave the house by about 7.15 which meant it was about 8.30 by the time I got to Pill.

I had a chat with a man out walking his dog and asked him if he thought the tow path back to Bristol might be open. 'Oh, yes', he said. 'It was much higher yesterday but it should be fine today'.

A bit further on near the entrance to the path I saw a runner coming the other way. I stopped him and asked if the tow path might be possible. 'No problem', he replied.

A mile or two later down the path I came across a stretch flooded to a depth of about a foot or more. There were about 500 metres covered by the flooding river. Faced with the prospect of a lengthy detour I waded into the cold water and edged my away along the wall at the edge of the path. I was perfectly safe but splendidly wet.

My new running shoes drained pretty well and following a mile or two of cold feet all was well again.

I ended my run at Mum and Dad's where a splendid cooked breakfast, an orange juice and a cup of tea awaited me. A breakfast, a chat and a lift home. I am treated well!

Back home and the boys have just returned from the library. Time for elevenses!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.