Tay Ghillie

By challum

You're not welcome here!

This sign on a sporting estate near to Dunkeld is in place 365 days a year. Shooting does take place right enough - on 12 days a year in December and January! No, this sign is in place to deter people from exercising their legal right of access under the pretence that they might be interfering with estate management practices. Now unfortunately this sign also happens to be 10 yards from my back door... I should say that I have been involved in field sports for over thirty years and I am also a keen hillwalker and just generally enjoy pottering about the countryside. A few weeks ago while walking on this track I met the gamekeeper who I found very difficult to have any chat with. Imagine my surprise, anger, frustration and disappointment when a few days after our meeting I received a letter from the landowner asking me not to use the track as I was disturbing their shooting activities. Clearly me walking on the track with my baby girl in my arms causes more disturbance than the keeper who motors up here many times every day as he goes about his business! I never replied to the letter, but likewise I never walked up the track again. Such a pity.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.