The second half of life..

By twigs

Gone fishin'

It's been a stunning day today - wall-to-wall sunshine and an overall feel-good day. After the rain and coldness of the past couple of days it seemed that every man and his dog was out enjoying the sunshine. The beach was buzzing, the road-side fishing spots were all taken and everyone seemed to be smiling.

I spent some time along the waterfront where there were plenty of people out trying to catch some fresh fish for tea tonight. I had hoped that someone would pull in a big 'un and I could shoot the battle between beast and man. Sadly, all that anyone caught whilst I was there was a smallish kawhai and a squid, neither of which were thrown back but instead, were killed and chopped up for bait.

As someone who finds harming, let alone killing anything difficult to bear, I left at this stage. It's probably good, on reflection, that no-one did catch the big 'un!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.