Big Hill

By bighill

More Wood...

Spent about an hour or so stacking the wood we split and trucked over the other day.....it occured to me, while bending and reaching.....how we can enjoy something at a certain time of our life that once was a very unpleasant chore!

I lived for almost 20 years, in Muskoka, where our home was heated with wood only....i dreaded the winters, having to stack the wood, bring it in on cold days, and all this while raising 2 small children, and running my pottery business. I so resented the time and energy i had to put out - so we often hired young, fit kids...and paid them! I felt justified in having this arduous task done for me - while i did things i was more interested in, like making pots and spending time with my daughers. And now, here i am - 20 years older - and find myself enjoying the stacking of the wood out on the back porch. It was such a blustery day here, but the sky was mostly very blue with a few clouds and of course the trees are turning red, yellow and gold!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.