TO MY BIG SURPRISE

I saw so many canadian geese swimming in the big pond nearby. The swam in almost miliray order if one could use that word for animals. One cannot of course.
The swan family that I had come to feed were standing at the shore at the other side of the pond. Then there were the gulls, lots of them too, and the coots and the ducks. A whole pond full!
The swans came swiftly swimming towards me, and I tried to do a just thing in dividing what I had with me for them all.
Some creatures are more clever than others in getting what they want. No difference to humans, I would say.
In the afternoon Piet Hein and I wanted to probe our luck with the storm at the beach. I like extreme weather of some kind, if only lightening or heavy rain is not involved.
To experience the elements and feel myself little but not helpless walking against the heavy wind. We both took pictures, the sky, the sea, the lonely walker, the gulls and the crows. Piet Hein succeeded well. I was happy that I had taken a picture of the floating canadese geese in the morning.

My haiku:

Their friendly faces
I greet: are you all back
Now since summertime?

And the proverb:

Er is geen dropje zo klein, of er is éénmaal 't jaar kermis.

Translation: There is no village that small. or there is once in a year a fair.

Harrebomée explains that the word kermis originally came from kerkmis, meaning: churchmess,

I want to thank you all for the wonderful comments, stars and hearts on my picture of the reeds. Piet Hein earns the credit for helping choosing me, and indicating that he liked this one the most of all. Thank you Piet Hein.








Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.