Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Last of the Morning Colour

As I left the house on my morning run to the beach the sky was filling with ribbons of red as the rising sun caught the clouds gathering from the west. Still half an hour before sunrise so there simply wasn't enough light for a decent blip.

As I made my way along the Low Avenue I could see the area of colour had spread and was much brighter, but would I get to the beach before the colours faded? Gone are the days when I could have put on a sprint, so all I could do was cross my fingers and plod on. Sure enough, the red was turning to pink as I approached the beach with my little compact already in my hand for a quick blip. The wind was freshening from the south east heralding the arrival of the umpteenth storm in the last couple of months. It was a case of a quick about turn and head for home.

This turned out to be the only colour of the day with heavy rain arriving later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.