Lifting Fog

Eased out of bed really late this morning: 9 am. Rarely do I do that even though Arvin usually does. Often I have a morning to do stuff before the rest of the household is ready to go somewhere. Anyhow, I looked out the window and there was the usual morning fog brightly lit by the sun working its way through.

After I showered and got dressed, I decided to try to get some bird photos on the deck. The sun was up but the fog was still in the hills and on the lake. There was enough light for birds and I had been wanting to stay out there long enough to discourage the seagull from stealing all the food. So that's what I did. Got a few decent crow shots. But then I noticed this view. The roofs were steaming from the hot sun over their cold wetness from the fog. And the fog was breaking across the lake. I took a seven shot HDR series and processed it with the Nik HDR plug in. I tried a bunch of different versions and liked this mono one the best.

It is almost 1 pm now and the rest of the family is up and beginning to be ready to head out. (See what I mean?) Our plan is to drive down Chuckanut and stop at Bow on our way to Padilla Bay where there is a really cool trail that runs along the canals and sloughs. We might see more birds and wildlife there. If I get any great photos, I'll post them on Chaikins of Bellingham.

Looks like a good Sunday for the gang here. Hope yours is (or was) too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.