0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

“I ♥ Pound Bakery”

I first saw Kenny sitting on the wall eating his pasty. I have a general rule about disturbing people when they’re eating so didn’t consider him at first. What did catch my eye was a plastic bag he had on him which said, “I ♥ Pound Bakery”. I was curious and he caught me looking at it.

“Pound Bakery, it’s at the other end of town, just across from the Corn Exchange”
“…and everything is a pound…?” (ask a silly question)
“Yeah, I got these two,” pointing at his pasties "for a pound”
“How would you rate it against Gregg’s?”
“I can’t really tell the difference, and it’s cheaper so I go there”

I went to a Jimmy Carr show once, and one of his first gags was about how many Gregg’s shops there are in close proximity to each other in the centre of Leeds (I’ve just looked it up, and there are ten, all in about 1/4 mile of each other). It seems people love baked goods.

Kenny said he was in a rush to get to college, where he is retaking maths. I didn’t quite understand the level he was at, but I did ask him how he was going to do things differently this time, to risk failing again.

“Oh, I’ll just get on with it, just get on with it”

And with that, he got on his bike, cycled off and got on with it...


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.