0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"We've always had to have a dark room in our house. My wife's a photographer and my son is studying it. He specially selected the course as it focuses on film.”

The extended curiosity from yesterday bled into today and I went to check out the Pound Bakery in town. I have to say I expected it to be worthy of the name, I firmly believe that you get what you pay for, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Afterwards, I decided to burn off the calories from the pasty and take a walk in the Corn Exchange, where I met Adrian here. Adrian is a musician and makes musical scores for TV shows, he mentioned Heartbeat as one of them and works for ITV quite a bit.

We talked at length, firstly about his job and how it works. People basically contact him with a request for a score, describing what the mood of the piece is to be and what it resembles (he gave the example of ‘Psycho’).

“Without that it’s impossible to know what they want, so I always try and get some sort of baseline."

We then went onto talk about photography and as I described my project he seemed to know about the concept, and went onto tell me that his wife was a professional photographer, and his son was studying Fine Art Photography at Glasgow University.

“Yes, it sounds like I know a lot about it, but I’ve just absorbed it from both of them over time.”

I asked Adrian more about the course, it sounded interesting to me, and he told me it’s one of the few course like it anywhere in the world, one of the main reasons his son selected it. Some of the projects/photos from the degree show last year are quite fascinating.

A great encounter with a super interesting individual, I could have chatted to Adrian for hours but had to head back to work, burning off a few more calories on the way...


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.