benek

By benek

This Won't Happen Often

Yes, it's a flower. Only the second time ever for me on blip. I'm also proud to say never blipped a cute dog, kitten, swan, or any other adorable creature.

Very close to bluesheep's only one per day challenge for me. I actually took three shots, but the first two were blurry. So only one usable shot today. This is it.

Update on the mysterious mini racetrack situation:

Ran by today and found the sign I knew I'd seen before. Northern Sports Car Club. So sorry Wingpig, no rabbits. Although VW did rename the Golf to Rabbit (at least in the US) so maybe...

Looks like there's a large conference type room in the front with older people in it. Maybe a Rotary Club kind of meeting or something. Cars parked everywhere outside (their parking lot is on top of the mini racetrack) so makes me think that track isn't used anymore. But one car I often see in front is one of those Subaru WRX rally type cars so there's still some racing related activities going on in there.

Update to the thick black smoke fire situation:


Never heard in the papers or online about what it was so this afternoon I decided to run by and check it out. Usually I run in the morning but was raining all day today so had to wait until this afternoon for a break in the weather. Got some good work done and decided to duck out at 4 for the run. Anyway...

So I was running past where the fire was and the (Car Auction company) looks immaculate. No damage at all to the glass shop front. Thought maybe I had the wrong place but then spotted black smoky damage down by the shrubs and on the bottom of their signage. Turns out the fire was in this little tunnel place below their elevated entrance deck. A pile of old discarded tires in there. Obviously that was the fuel, and it must have been intentional. For not that many tires and probably less than ideal oxygen, it sure produced a lot of smoke! I bet someone's in deep sh*t for that even though very little property damage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.