0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

“I dabble in it” (Modelling)

After walking around town for a while today, I wasn’t having much luck in locating anyone I fancied taking a portrait of. So I decided to go visit some shops and some folk I know in the Corn Exchange.

While I was there, I noticed some large studio lights set-up on the first floor balcony. I was curious so I ventured up and asked the shop owners, outside where the lights were.

“Um…we don’t know either. Someone just set them up there.”

Curiouser and curiouser!

It was then that I spotted Jake having his photo taken, across the hall. I watched for a while to see what they were doing and it seemed like an informal shoot. I walked over after a while, and introduced myself and asked Jake, and the accompanying photographer, whether I could take a portrait.

The photographer was by chance, the owner of the vintage fashion store, Mad Elizabeth, and she explained that Jake usually did all the modelling for her vintage mens clothing, of which today was shirts.

I’m not sure if it’s apparent in the photo but Jake was VERY tall, and I had to get quite far back to get all of him in. I only got to chat with him for a brief moment as I didn’t want to disturb Elizabeth’s shoot. Jake is also a bit of a musician.

The lights remained a mystery...


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.