Deserted...

...except for the cleaner on the stairs.

It was just before 7am when we got to Hexham General Hospital for The Man's hip operation on a cold, wet day. I've never seen a hospital so quite since I had to do on-call Radiography 35 years ago.

He was very nervous about the op and what the next few months would be like but the staff were very reassuring. They allowed me to sit with him in his room until he was ready to go to theatre at 10am.

I took the opportunity to get some lunch then went back to his room and dozed while I waited for him to get back from theatre after 1pm.

I was pleased to find that he was happy about the experience and thought the staff had been marvellous. He was feeling a bit sleepy so I left to let him have a nap before the Physiotherapist would be expecting him to walk around the room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.