The Dismount Saves the Routine

More graceful in large.

The first day of competition in the Alternative Olympic Games started with a bang! I was assigned to cover the bluejays on the balance beam routines.

This young lady got into trouble when she fell off the fence post beam. The crowd gasped, as she had been doing so well up until that point... But she picked herself up, climbed back on that beam and finished like a pro! She wowed the crowd with amazing moves and finished with a spectacular dismount (seen above). I've included a Commemorative Flickr Set for you to have, to remember the highlights of this stellar routine. She won the gold (peanuts) and waved enthusiastically to her fans from the podium. A fine day for this young athlete!

I haven't received my assignment for tomorrow... Who knows what I'll be covering then. I must say, having a press-pass to these games is quite a thrill.

If you're not familiar with the Alternative Olymic Games, check out Debbi's page. She is the creator of this fun event.

Now off to watch the actual Olympics... Have a good night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.