Back to the '70's

Some Australians might remember a magazine that came out, I think in the 1970's, called "Dolly". I was a huge fan back then of "Dolly" magazine and never missed an issue, (with a name like that it was obviously aimed at teenagers!) If anyone ever complains that they don't like my makeup (not that they do!) I could blame it on "Dolly" as I think I learnt everything I know about makeup, skin care and nail polish from that magazine.

But "Dolly" magazine was more than just a makeup magazine for clueless teenaged girls, it also had a feature recipe in each issue and there was one recipe that I particularly liked for a chocolate cake, which I have made many times over the years. In fact, I have baked it again this afternoon.

My daughter Emma had a little laugh at me when I told her that I was making a chocolate cake out of "Dolly" magazine! Who thinks their mother's were ever teenagers...really?!!

The chocolate cake is still in the oven, but what you see here is a Lemon Tea Cake, another old favourite from a Margaret Fulton cookbook (far more mature than my old magazines!) and some Banana Choc Chip Muffins, which used up some over-ripe bananas.

Gotta run now, the cake will be ready to come out of the oven any second! I hope everyone is finding a leisurely pastime to pursue this weekend. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.