This Year's Sibling

I had my blip for today all planned out, or so I thought. Not that the planned blip idea took a dive at all, just another moment presented itself....

This year our resident magpies had three babies. They only stay in the area for a few months before they are sent packing by mother and father, who long ago claimed the Maggie Territorial Rights to this area, and there is no room for their extended family to stay. The youngsters disappear every year and I had thought that one of them had already left. I was wrong....

This morning, all three were here for breakfast. I started taking photos through the window at first, so as not to disturb them, progressively moving towards the door when they didn't seemed bothered by my presence, then I opened the door and the strangest thing happened....

The birds usually take turns eating on the veranda post and at most there will be only two up there. As the birds kept an eye on me I spoke to them, telling them I didn't know if I would get another opportunity to take photos of all three of them together...they moved closer together...then there were two on the post...then the third baby flew up onto the post ... then they started looking at me!

I swear they were posing, but really, how could they know what I was doing? That's the logical question....

My heart tells me that they have been visiting my garden for long enough now to know what I was on about, and they wanted to share my photo moment by spending time together too....they also know that their time together is limited.

Such a special moment in time to see them all here. And my planned blip will keep for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.