Gerry Goanna -LUGE Entrant!

Well it's now on for young and old. dbifulco threw out the challenge to Blippers around the world to take part in the Alternative Olympic Games Challenge. I did warn Deb that we are fiercely tenacious competitors in Oz and I'm here today to prove it!

Let me introduce our second competitor from the Blue Mountains, meet "Gerry the Goanna" entering in the male Luge event. You will note that we really care for our athletes, while he's in training doing his push ups he's able to hydrate at the same time! I have added some other images to my blipfolio of Gerry and an image of the Billabong which will put it all in context for you. I hope you enjoy.

Well Gerry is ably supported by Edna the Emu. Yes it's definitely Edna - we don't want any confusion between Edna and Eddie the Lynx Spider competing in the downhill slalom - and entered by Beckett. We're working as a team in OZ!! We're hopeful that Edna will take the field in the "Speed Skating" event. Those long legs of hers will give her a huge advantage!!

Seriously my Blipper friends, I couldn't breath when I looked out the window and to my absolute amazement, this beautiful creature had climbed up the side of the Billabong and was having a drink. I had been out all morning cleaning the pond and trimming back some of the dead leaves and it was looking really lovely. I even had an umbrella protecting the plants (and myself) while I was working on it. Great to think that Gerry really appreciated my efforts.

It just highlights how important WATER is to our native animals and birds. We have had dozens of little birds, the gang gangs, black cockatoos and now a goanna taking advantage of our watering holes this morning alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.