0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"I studied music, did the whole 'band' thing-we were big in Japan. Now I plan to teach English abroad, use it as a means to travel and see the world.”

After the usual Saturday morning activities, I met up with some friends in town for lunch. I happened to catch Lee here, taking a cigarette break outside the Diesel store. I assumed he worked there since he was using their alcove but he actually works a few shops up at the shade station.

Unfortunately not for very much longer though. He told me, he was being ‘let go’, but he wasn’t swayed by it, mentioning that he wanted to travel and see the world so it seemed like a good time to do so.

The more I talked to Lee, the more I got to find out about his past, and even though he’s still young at 27, he has had an interesting life already.
Having studied music at University he, and a couple of others, formed a band by the name of ‘Mother/Destroyer’. Lee played on guitar, and their tagline was ‘Heavy, Not Metal’. The name emanates from Hindu Mythology, and the Hindu goddess of creation, preservation and destruction. They were huge in Japan apparently!

I’ve had a look at some videos of their live performances and it’s not for me, my neck just couldn’t take it at my age :)


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.