I is for Imprint

Been a funny old day today.

I have been battling a cold all week - felt all bunged up and had a headache. Still been able to get on with things. But this morning when I woke up I ached from head to foot. Thumping headache and hands and feet were freezing cold while the rest of me was too hot. Decided to stay in bed and go back to sleep.

I vaguely remember Neil coming in and asking if I could change a £20 note for his bus fare. I told him where to go ............... to find some fivers. Then I heard him go out and I went back to sleep. No idea what the time was.

Woke up around 3.30pm. Still felt terrible. Went downstairs and immediately realised something was wrong with Lily. She was growling , snarling and hissing at me. Very unusual. Went into the kitchen and noticed Neil had left the door to the utility room open. ( he must have been out there looking for some item of clothing which had been washed and was now hanging on the line in there. Whatever I iron it always seems he wants something which isn't ironed. ) I panicked as I just knew Tino would have escaped through the cat flap. Opened the door to the outside world and there he was just sitting on the patio. He came in when I called him. Whew.

Tino and I went into the kitchen and Lily started growling at Tino and then running off and hiding. I couldn't understand it. Seemed a bit overkill just because he had been outdoors. She kept running up to him trying to scratch him and poor Tino couldn't understand it. Neither could I.

I decided to get her out her favourite toy - Da Bird as she absolutely loves it. She played with it as usual but she still wouldn't go near Tino without growling and hissing. I plugged in the Feliway to see if that would calm her down and it ( or just the passage of time ) seems to have worked. She is fine now.

I have been wondering what on earth happened while I was asleep and the door to the utility room was open. The only thing I can think of is that as Tino was able to get out it stands to reason the another cat was able to get in and this strange cat must have freaked poor Lily out.

I am feeling slightly better this evening. Have stayed in the warm all day and had plenty of liquids and paracetamol.

The Forum Alphabet challenge letter is I. Could have chosen I for Ill but decided to blip these elongated coins.

Elongated coins are coins that have been elongated (flattened or stretched) and imprinted with a new design with the purpose of creating a commemorative or souvenir token. It was ( and maybe still is ) common to find "pressed penny" machines in tourism hubs, such as museums, amusement parks, and natural/man-made landmarks.

Over the years whenever I saw one of these penny pressing machines I would pop a penny in. The coin on the left was pressed in Blackpool and shows Blackpool tower. The coin at the top was pressed at Wembley ( old Wembley) The coin on the right was pressed at The Floral Clock near Niagara Falls in Canada. The coin on the bottom was pressed at The Caves of Nottingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.