K is for Keep

Had a hairdressers appointment today at 3pm in Newcastle and I went earlier so I could spend time getting my blip. The Forum Alphabet Challenge is K so here is the Castle Keep.

The Castle Keep was built by Henry II between 1168-1178 and it is one of the finest surviving examples of a Norman Keep in the country. It stands within a site that also contains an early motte and bailey castle, an Anglo-Saxon cemetery and a Roman Fort. After the town wall was completed, about the mid 14th century, the castle was isolated within the new defences and became militarily redundant. From that time on few repairs are recorded and by 1589 it was described as old and ruinous. The keep has been restored on a number of occasions principally in the 1800's and again between the 1960s and 1980s when crumbling outside stonework was replaced and the interior cleaned. Despite these changes the keep remains one of the best examples of its type in the country. It is a Grade 1 listed building, a Scheduled Ancient monument and is open to the public 361 days of the year as a heritage visitor attraction. Ashamed to say I have never been inside it - might have to remedy that.

After taking my photo I made my way to the hairdressers. It was somewhere I hadn't been before. Went inside and the girl on reception said the place was closed this week and she was just there to make appointments. She only started working there yesterday. So neither of us could understand why I had been given an appointment for today. So I just made another appointment for next Tuesday and cleared off.

Did a bit of shopping in town and as I had more time to play with than expected I got the bus to The Metrocentre. I picked up something at Dorothy Perkins which I had ordered online.

The weather had been lovely - bright and quite warm - but when I was on the bus home at around 6.15pm it started to snow - heavily. It was quite a surprise. Mind you we were due for snow as its not often you get to February without having any.

Got indoors and the house was freezing. Central heating hadn't come on. Boiler had no pressure. Recurring problem. Fixed it.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.