Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

White Poppy

I love white flowers and white poppies come high on my favourite list. They are not common among my naturalised poppies. Some years I don't see one at all. This is a fine specimen, with more buds to come.


Starling update. This morning I was awakened at 5.40 by a starling commotion outside my window. I got up, but by the time I investigated it was quiet again. Very quiet. Sorry now I didn't just look out of my window, because some of the nests are empty and the fledgelings that have been on the ground were all gone. Once all the chicks in a nest are fledged the adults take them well away from the house. The parents hustle them off very early in the morning. Sometimes I don't see them again.

There are at least two chicks in the nesting box I built about 10 years ago. One keeps poking its head out to chirp. It is quite fearless and let me approach close to take photos. Another nest has chirping coming from it too, but the starling noise level is way down. Now I can hear other birds, greenfinches, dunnocks, waxeyes and goldfinches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.