South Island Pied Oystercatcher

Haematopus finschi, endemic to New Zealand.

Two shots of the same bird. A wader with short legs and clawed feet. I don't normally see them on the ground. This one was in the grass not far from my back fence. It very quickly ran off out of range when I appeared.

Although they are a bird of tidal mudflats and estuaries they breed inland on braided riverbeds or on high country farmland. During the breeding season they frequently fly overhead, their long bill, short tail and incessant calling making them very distinctive. Sometimes I hear them after dark.

Best in large.

It has been a very warm day. I went out early to work in the garden. The sunshine was so fierce that by 9 am a broad brimmed hat was not enough and I set up a sun umbrella to work under. By late morning I had to come inside. Now it's evening and I need to mow the lawn because the grass has grown so long. I'm still not feeling great, but it's a good idea to keep moving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.