THE RAILROAD BRIDGE

at Meinbrexen seen from beneath, the bridge crosses the Weser there. Look, Piet Hein said, it is still an old Bailey bridge, very rusty, but with a beautiful structure.
The morning had started very bright and before I knew Piet Hein had went on his tour to catch the sunrise. I took care for the birds then, and had removed old beech leaves that covered the tiny stems of the crocusses.
When Piet Hein returned I reminded him that the day before I had spoken the wish to go to Meinbrexen together, to the lakes, if the weather would be good.
So after some deliberations we set off by car.
The weather in the meantime had changed a bit, big clouds and more wind in the air. But we walked around the lake, watched the colony of cormorants swimming, the lone swan flying and landing in the Weser, and heard so many little birds singing in the trees, which we could not see; a walk in paradise I would say.
When we came home again it was high time for lunch and we both felt tired and a bit cold.

My haiku:

I first heard the sound
Then in one movement I looked up
Above me flying swans

And the proverb:

No divinity is absent, if Prudence is present.










Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.