W is for Wetherspoons

Weather was sunny and mild today and the cats enjoyed some time outdoors in the enclosure. Had to keep the patio door open though as Lily cries to be in if I close it.

Went to Slimming club this evening. Lost 1½ pounds this week. Total weight loss 3 stone 7½ pounds. Weight is coming off slowly but surely.

Forum Challenge letter today is W and I could have chosen Weight Loss for my blip but instead I have chosen a Wetherspoons in the making. I blipped this building before work started. It is due to open on 10th June and will be called The Jack Roll. From what I can gather a jack roll was used in coal mining and was a man powered device for hoisting coal to the surface - similar to the windlass of a water well. There is a history of coal mining around the village so its an appropriate choice of name. There were a lot of locals opposed to the opening of this Wetherspoons but I reckon its a good thing. This lovely building has stood empty for years and it will be great to see it given a new lease of life.

Off to the hairdressers tomorrow - hope its 3rd time lucky and I actually get my hair cut this week,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.