THE HORSE I SAW IN HELMARSHAUSEN

A sweet one. I gave her a little piece of carrot. The farmer was near and I did not know if he would allow to give it to her.
The horse stayed near me behind the wire and I took a lot of pictures. I choose with the help of Piet Hein this one where her eye's expression shows.
The whole morning I had worked in the garden, gathering beech leaves that covered the ground too thickly and I found some crocuses and if I'am right, it was not yet good visible, some aconites too.
Hard work, but I paused in between and now four days of the seven of my schedule are done. I like to be on schedule, that was the matter very much so in my working years. Always trying to be ready a long time before the deadline was due.
Now I am retired I can enjoy living without deadlines and I do thoroughly so.
After lunch I cycled along the Diemel river to Helmarshausen, had a look at the Jugendherbge there, and continued on the path for cyclists and walkers only, in the direction of Wülmersen.
At some point one can cross the Diemel and return on the other side. A nice tour it was. I saw a lot of snowdrop fields, one very beautiful in a cemetry, but although it was not cold, no not at all, the sun shone a little bleakly.
I had not realised in earlier times how awful amounts of snowdrops grow here everywhere, especially in the woods and along the river.

My haiku:

Soft eyed horse stay near
I can smell and hear your breath
I came to say hello

And the proverb:

The first degree of folly is to hold one's self wise, the second to profess it, the third to despise counsel.

1640 in G. Herbert, Outlandish Proverbs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.