THE PARROTS

at the 'Papageienhof' make so much noise that you can hear where they live from a far away distance. It is too early to be open for the public, but the parrots one can see in their cages outside.
The whole morning I worked in the garden. On a slope again, where the bramble had taken their time to grow enormously. The laurel bushes too.
I have started to take away the dead stems with seed heads, pruned partly the laurel, made the little paths clear.
That made lunch late and I started my walk rather late.
First down into town, then cross the Diemel bridge, take the path that leads to the Diemelhöhe. and still higher up a landscape opens up that I like a lot. Very far one can look to the south, with more hills at the horizon.
Then to the Papageienhof, where I took my pictures and along the farm Die Erlenhof, where a lot of persons enjoyed the ambiance, the cafe and cakes.
Following the path towards Herstelle and along the Weser back to Karlshafen.
A very nice walk in good weather, but a bit too long.

My haiku:

Eye in eye I stood
Was she chewing a stone or
A nut that I heard crack

And the proverb:

Sow peas and beans in the wane of the moon; who soweth them sooner, he/she soweth too soon.

1846 in M.A. Denham, A Collection of Proverbs...relating to the Weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.