BEHIND THE EISENBAHNERHEIM

are gardens for growing vegetables and flowers, and fruit (apples and the like). Perhaps they are for enjoying nature too. The gardens are at a pretty location, just where the forest starts.
I can't remember that I ever have seen a person sitting or working there. Some of the gardens look neglected and more a storage for old wood and some ustensils.
Every year I marvel at one of the gardens in early spring as it shows a sea of snowdrops. I mentionned this before and today Piet Hein and I went there after lunch. First we bought carrots for the horses, Paule, Beauty and Lucky, who live in the field of the Eisenbahnerheim. That was a lot of carrots we could gave them.
They seemed happy, eagerly eating.
My picture shows the snowdrop-sea, next time when we come here again, it will be gone for a year.
In the morning I still had worked in the garden, can leave tomorrow with a satisfied feeling about it.
We will return to Holland, where we will see Mischa, the seaside again and friends too.

My haiku:

Snowdrops hardly sing
But if they did I could listen
For hours to their song

And the proverb:

The ebb willfetch off what the tide brings in.

1587 Churchyard, Trag. Card. Wolsey: Men... think all is their own they have in hold. Well, let them say and think what thing they please. This weltering world both flows and ebbs like seas.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.