Apogee

Neil arrived back home at about 1pm from his trip to Dublin. Quick turnaround as he started work at 3pm. Late finish so I'm expecting him in around 10pm.

Quiet day at home for me. I did some ironing including the lounge curtains. They are huge - 90" x 90" and such a pain to iron.

Off to Slimming World at 5pm. Remember the 1½ pounds I lost last week - well I put that back on again this week. Oh well these things happen.

Took the long way round to slimming club so I could get my blip shot. Todays' Forum Challenge word is Apogee which means the farthest or highest point; the apex.This photo shows the Community Centre in the village. Not sure what the apogee of this building is - possibly there once was a bell in there.

It was built around 1900 and in 1910 it was taken over and used as The Axwell Park Miners Institute. There is a plaque above the door which shows the date of 1910. It provided leisure activities for miners from the local pit - a games room with billiard tables etc. An extension was added in 1913 which contained a library and reading room. The pit closed in 1953 and the building became a Community Centre with a further extension being added in 1968. It is a well used building with various clubs - art club, photographic club, flower arranging, bridge club, WI, yoga. zumba, toddlers club -- and loads more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.