Riding High

I took my long hilly route into work this morning. It was remarkably mild and I overheated on the climbs, something which hasn't happened for a while. I'm just approaching that stage where the training is clicking in and I'm beginning to feel a little stronger. I live in the Wharfe Valley and work in the Aire Valley. Ilkley Moor sits in the middle so there is inevitably some climbing to do whatever route I take. This one is the killer though. It climbs over the edge of the moor to descend right down to the Aire before climbing right back up again to traverse high above the valley, from where this shot was taken, looking south towards Keighley, and Haworth beyond. Bronte Country.

This is certainly the highlight of my commute, a couple of miles of easy riding at a high elevation before descending to East Morton, not quite down to the valley bottom, before climbing back up yet again to skirt around the edge of the moor once more and then the descent to Shipley via the edge of Baildon Moor. It's an epic way to start the day - made even more epic today by picking up another puncture. A closer inspection revealed that a new set of tyres is in order.

The day then went rapidly downhill, but I don't need to talk about that.

PS The detail this little camera of mine picks up is astonishing. You won't really be able to appreciate it at large but examination of the native image reveals every window of every house and cars and people on the streets of the town. It's amazing really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.