Behind Closed Blinds

A day off the cycle commuting today to give the legs a chance to recover, but also because I'd arranged to meet up with Forrest in Bradford after work, to go see the Lego Movie. I wouldn't have watched this on my own so I was very happy that he was keen to see it himself. And I really needed to turn my head off for a few hours after a very tough week.

I love these films which pretend to be for the kids but are really for the adults - a bit like lego itself really. The movie was fabulous fun and I loved all the little creative flourishes, especially perhaps the lego sea and clouds. For me, it wasn't so much about the story (although that was cute and ultimately quite moving) but the world that was created using today's technological magic. It tapped into something very deep rooted. I guess I saw realised this evening what every little boy (and girl) who has played with these ubiquitous pieces of plastic has always dreamed about: an actual living, breathing lego universe. Quite an amazing achievement.

It didn't actually occur to me until I'd looked at today's fairly meager collection of photographs how appropriate this is for today's blip. Was my subconscious working away again?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.