Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

13 miles

Just a bit of a step up from the walks I've been doing. Yes, I must be mad.

It was a perfect day for walking. The sun was shining and there was little wind. We did the pre-walk for Day One of Isaac's Tea Trail. We will be covering the whole tea trail over 3 days in the Haltwhistle Spring Walking Festival.

We did a long initial stretch close to the River East Allen. The lapwings were enjoying life over the farmland there. Once we reached the open access land of the open moors, it was curlew and grouse who kept us company.

I'm still not fully fit but was doing fairly well until I put my foot into deep mud. My right boot disappeared and the mud was nearly to the top of the gaiter. Pulling my foot out wasn't easy - very squelchy indeed. Later on I managed to slip and fall into mud and water resulting in very muddy clothes and a nose bleed. Not safe to let out really!

I had a great day and loved the route. Hopefully I'll soon be fit enough to do it without accidents. Now I need a hot bath.....

Hobbs' run is hosting a MonoMonday Challenge with the theme of architecture. I wasn't sure that I would find a suitable building and the blue skies and beautiful landscapes were tempting, but here is my MonoMonday entry. Buildings that have seen better times and are slowly falling down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.