Bassenthwaite by moonlight

View LARGE to see the stars

Thank you for so many comments, stars and faves on yesterdays blip - It's shot well up my favourites page, and is one of my most faved pics of the year so far! If you missed it - do take a look, it's one I'm kinda pleased with!

Aurora forecasts suggested between midnight and 3am would be a good time to go aurora hunting - but the guests were a little too tired to try. Didn't stop me though - so just after midnight, I headed out towards Bassenthwaite Lake to try my luck.

The fact that the moon was so bright really worked against me, but I managed 1 1/2 hours at the side of the lake, watching the mist and fog increase, to obscure most of the view, but more significantly, all the sky.

I did like this view of Skiddaw and Bassenthwaite Lake, as the winds were low, and the reflections good. It almost looks like a daylight shot, until you spot the stars in the sky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.