Menswear Dog (2014)

This is a newly painted electronics box, on the corner of Great North Road and Williamson Avenue in Grey Lynn. I did take a photo of this box a couple of days ago. Not only did the result not compete with the photo of the Sky Tower which I ended up posting; I was unhappy with the composition.

Yesterday on my way home after work, I saw how to get the picture. So this afternoon I went to the corner (did have a letter to two to post in the nearby Post Shop; the building labelled kokako was the Grey Lynn Post Office, and is now a cafe), and took a few photos.

As I framed up this one, I realised that walking into the shot was a man whom I regularly see sitting on the pavement a short way along Williamson Avenue, mostly hidden under his "golf umbrella". Very occasionally I have seen him interact with a passerby. Most often I see him laughing quietly to himself, and avoiding being seen and seeing others. He appears to carry his belongings with him; if so they are few. At the end of the day, he walks away. In the mornings he walks back, often from a different direction to that I have seen him walk away in.

Does he have a shelter to go to? I do not know. All I know is that when he is sitting there, he does not read, he does not listen to music, and he rarely talks to passers by. I do not know if he is content, or if he wants something different.

The artist for this painted box is Paul Walsh. The painting was sponsored by Daren Grover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.