Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flight of the Hoodies

I went back to Paulinskill today - needed to get my mind off death and sadness. And spending a little time with nature did what I knew it would - it lifted my spirits. As the ice continues to melt on the lakes, the birds are moving further and further off shore so the choices today were far fewer than yesterday's. However, I came across 8 drake Hooded Mergansers, all seeking to impress a solitary hen. They had a few scuffles - as only ducks can do - which look much more violent than I suppose they are. And they executed some showy moves. None of it seemed to impress the hen. As I sat quietly watching them, they got closer and closer .. and eventually they saw me and these four (3 drakes and the hen) took flight, zooming right past my head not once, but twice.

If you'd like to see six other shots from today, check out Flickr, starting here

Tomorrow hubs and I are going to make a quick trip into the city to B & H. I need a proper camera bag and insurance just approved a 100% payout on the damaged 105mm lens, so I will pick up a new lens while I am there.

I was very relieved to find out that the priest finally confirmed his availability on the 27th for my FIL's memorial service. So, hubs and I will fly down on the 26th to spend some much needed time with family.

And, now that the service is settled, I've been able to confirm going to FL next weekend to meet up with a bunch of Blippers and do 2 solid days of wildlife photography. Hubs insisted that I go, saying that he needs a weekend to himself to work on the race car and continue his own healing - without me hovering. :)

Thank you again for all the support this past week. And for sending yesterday's atonal swan to the spotlight.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.