Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sounds of Flight...

I returned to Paulinskill this morning and as I was standing, camera in hand, photographing a great blue heron, I heard the unmistakable sound of a swan's wings. I spun around, and saw this great white bird flying straight towards me. I had time to snap off about 20 shots as he flew directly over my head, so close he filled the entire frame. I took better photos today, and saw some amazing birds (sandhill cranes, a rare visitor to our area), but this is the image that spoke to me today. It felt like a bit of calmness in what has been a tumultuous week. And I think it is something that my FIL would have enjoyed seeing.

I managed some shots of ducks, geese, mergansers and the sandhill cranes in flight today as well as a nice shot of a great-blue heron in breeding plumage ...standing in a snowy marsh. If you'd care to have a look, I posted 10 photos starting HERE on Flickr

No word yet on the service, but I'm told that we should hear back from the priest today. I am anxious to be with the family.

Forgive my lack of comments lately - life has been difficult this week as you can imagine. I appreciate so much all your kind words.

Happy Friday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.