Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flight of the Hoodie

It was 20 degrees Fahrenheit today with wind gusts to 40 MPH, but I needed to get out and relax my mind today. So I ventured to a new (for me) spot in the Paulinskill WMA and I was treated to many cool waterfowl, among them Hooded Mergansers (Lophodytes cucullatus). This is not a great photo but I like it. This is a female HM with her crazy hair do taking off from the reedbeds along the river. Below her were wood ducks, a handsome male Hoodie, a pintail and quite a few other interesting web footed birds.

I posted 12 other photos from today on Flickr, starting here. Among them are several shots of the very glam-looking male Hoodie, a young bald eagle and a some wood ducks. I plan to go back tomorrow, when the temps should be a little less bitter. I'd really like to get some better shots of the wood ducks - they are such amazingly beautiful birds.

Still don't have a date yet for the service for my FIL. Crazy that it should take so long. The hold up now is the priest, apparently. Hopefully this will get settled this week so we can book tickets, hotel and car rental. I am anxious to see my MIL when we get down there. Some of you know that she has Alzheimers so as you can imagine, this is all very difficult for her. She is confused and disoriented right now. I hope that she will find it easier once the service takes place.

Thanks for indulging my walk on the photographic wild side yesterday. It felt right to do something different. Life feels shaken up at the moment.

Happy Thursday, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.